L’univers du parfum – Plus qu’une culture, un art olfactif

L’univers du parfum est un monde très mystérieux. À la manière de génies de la chimie, des nez y conçoivent des effluves audacieux qui nous accompagnent ensuite au quotidien. Cette industrie sensible fait également la part belle à l’artisanat et aux choix de matières premières incomparables. Pour obtenir ce flacon que vous aimez tant, de nombreux acteurs interviennent à chaque étape de sa fabrication. Apprentissage du métier de nez, recherche des essences, des matières premières… l’univers du parfum est aussi subtil que complet.

La base de tout, c’est le nez

Les techniques et les technologies ont beau évoluer et révolutionner l’univers du parfum, le socle principal de ce secteur est le nez. Sans lui, impossible de créer ces eaux de parfum Bon Parfumeur que vous aimez tant. Car lui seul est capable d’associer les bonnes essences afin de créer une fragrance harmonieuse qui sublime votre sillage.

Un sens olfactif hors du commun

Véritable artiste des odeurs, le nez est capable de reconnaître et de mémoriser quatre fois plus de senteurs et d’essences qu’un individu « normal ». Ce super pouvoir lui permet de composer des eaux de parfum uniques et harmonieuses, mais aussi d’autres types de parfums (senteur de produits cosmétiques ou ménagers par exemple).

Comment devenir nez ?

Doté au départ d’un odorat particulièrement développé, ce professionnel de l’univers du parfum doit néanmoins se former pour développer et faire évoluer son sens de l’odorat et sa mémoire des odeurs. Avec une licence de chimie en poche, le futur chef d’orchestre des odeurs intègre un master dédié à la chimie de la parfumerie. Là, il développe ses connaissances et devient un créateur hors pair. Les associations d’essences et de senteurs n’ont plus alors aucun secret pour lui et il peut développer ses propres fragrances, influencées par les tendances.

Retour à l’école

Il existe peu d’écoles reconnues par l’univers du parfum, dans le monde. Les plus célèbres maisons de parfum, situées en France, ne forment qu’une poignée de nez chaque année. Ces derniers ne sont d’ailleurs qu’environ 500 à travers le monde.

Un monde d’odeurs nous entoure

Si le nez est un artiste, nous sommes tous capables de reconnaître quelques odeurs et d’apprécier une fragrance. L’univers du parfum nous entoure au quotidien. Il ne s’agit pas simplement du flacon de parfum, mais de toutes les odeurs qui nous entourent. Facile alors de développer notre odorat. Oui, mais à condition d’y prêter attention. De petits exercices simples peuvent vous permettre d’y arriver. Commencez par exemple par tenter de reconnaître les yeux fermés quelques senteurs (menthe, rose, vanille). À force d’entraînement, vous pourrez sans doute parvenir à détecter les arômes que le parfumeur a pu imaginer lors de la conception du parfum.

Plus qu’un univers, un art

Aujourd’hui partie intégrante de notre quotidien, l’univers du parfum est un art à part entière. Des expositions et des musées lui sont consacrés et certains grands parfumeurs sont connus dans le monde entier pour leur talent unique.

Et si vous partiez à la découverte de notes et d’accords parfumés ? L’univers du parfum est partout autour de nous… à condition d’y prêter attention.

Sale

Unavailable

Sold Out

French
French

The world of perfume – more than a culture, an olfactory art form

The world of perfume is very mysterious. Like chemical geniuses, perfumers create bold fragrances for us to wear every day. This sophisticated industry also places great emphasis on craftsmanship and the use of outstanding raw materials. When it comes to your favorite bottle of perfume, many different people are involved at every stage of its manufacture. Learning how to be a perfumer, researching essences and raw materials: the world of perfume is as subtle as it is varied.

The perfumer: it all starts here

Although techniques and technologies may be changing and revolutionizing the world of perfume, perfumers are the mainstay of the industry. Without a perfumer, it’s impossible to create the eaux de parfum from Bon Parfumeur that you love so much. Because only he or she can combine the right essences to create a well-balanced fragrance that leaves a delicious scent in your wake. The perfumer is also responsible for choosing how the perfume should be stored.


An unusual sense of smell


The perfumer is a true artist and is capable of recognizing and memorizing four times more scents and essences than a “normal” individual. This super power enables him or her to create unique and well-balanced eaux de parfum, along with other types of fragrances (scents for cosmetics or household products, for example).


Becoming a perfumer

Born with a sensitive sense of smell, a professional perfumer must nevertheless be trained to develop and improve his or her sense of smell and memory of different scents. Ideally, a perfumer will have an undergraduate degree in chemistry and a Master’s degree in the chemistry of perfumery. This is an opportunity to further his or her knowledge and become an incredible creator of fragrances. He or she will learn everything there is to know about combining essences and scents and will then be able to develop his or her own perfumes, influenced by the latest trends.


Back to school


Globally, there are few schools which are recognized by the perfume industry. The most famous fragrance houses, based in France, only train a handful of perfumers every year. In fact, there are only 500 or so perfumers in the world. 


Surrounded by a world of scents

Although a perfumer is a genuine artist, we’re all capable of recognizing some smells and appreciating a fragrance. The world of perfume surrounds us every day. More than just bottles of perfume, we are constantly interacting with a wide range of scents. So it’s easy to develop your own sense of smell. But you do need to pay attention. Short and simple exercises can help you achieve this. For example, start by trying to recognize a few scents (mint, rose, vanilla) with your eyes closed. With practice, you may be able to identify the scents, that the perfumer used to create your fragrance.


A true art form


Today, the world of perfume is an integral part of our daily lives and an art form in its own right. There are exhibitions and museums dedicated to perfume and some iconic perfumers are renowned around the world for their unique talent.

What if you were to explore fragrant notes and accords for yourself? The world of perfume is all around us, but you do need to pay attention.

Sale

Unavailable

Sold Out

English
English